Hand Quilting – The Perfect Rainy Day Activity- March 20012

I did pretty well by my New Years Resolution.  I  quilted almost everyday in the month of January and I was down to the last row on the frame when I went on vacation.  The vacation was great but when I got back my hand quilting was at a complete stand still.  It has taken me a while to get back into the swing of things, but;  the week before last it rained almost all week and rainy days are just perfect for siting inside all snug and warm and sewing!  With the help of the wet weather not only did I jump start my hand quilting but….I finished, I finished, I finished!!!!!!!!!!!!    (to be sung not spoken)

Here’s the quilt fresh off the frame.

Here it is on the design wall, where you can really see the great impact of this old quilt.

This detail shows the batting.

I used a wool blend naturally gray bat from Matilda Bat Co. out of Australia.  It needled really well and had enough loft to help conceal some of the wonky parts of the quilt.  Suffice it to say I am very pleased with the end product and glad that at long last it is finished.  Cheers, CW

5 responses to “Hand Quilting – The Perfect Rainy Day Activity- March 20012

  1. Claire – Beautiful quilt! I love crafting on a rainy day 🙂

  2. You did it!! Yeah!! I love this quilt…the fabrics are terrific! And your stitches are divine :c)

  3. Claire, good for you finishing up that major project! The quilting is beautiful! The quilt looks great. You should be very proud of yourself!

  4. congrats on the happy dance!!!

  5. Yummy! Well should you be singing!

Leave a Reply

