Block Fever= Randy’s Sow-along- May 2012

I don’t do many ‘classical’ blocks these days.  I guess I’m just to impatient or sloppy or something.   I would describe myself as an adequate piecer, but my blocks are never perfect so I’m not inclined to take on projects that require that much attention.  Having said that;  I was over at my friend Randy’s house a couple of weeks ago and she was showing me a bunch of  6″ blocks from her Sow-along from her blog= www.Barristersblock.blogspot.com.  I thought they were so cool I thought I’d give it a try.  Well strike me down with a feather but I got bit by the bug!  I have been having so much fun making these blocks it is really like a fever!  Here’s one from Randy’s blog this week.

Of course  I had a lot of catching up to do so I have been making 3 or 4 blocks every day or so.  To mix things up, I’ll do a couple of Randy’s blocks and then I’ll choose a few of my own.  Here’s a couple I did today.

As you can see the piecing is not perfect but it will have to do.  I’m on a mission!  I have decided to make enough for a bed size quilt.  I’m thinkin’  maybe 104″ square.  I like bed quilts with a good drape on the sides.  My husband is a real ‘covers hog’  if I don’t use oversized covers  I end up in the cold.  Anywho, at 104″  that’s at least 15 x 15 = 225 blocks and that’s with  1″ sashing.  Yikes!  Well I already  have 36 blocks on account of this fever I’m in.

Hopefully it won’t subside too soon and Randy’s sow along will help to keep me in motivated.  Thanks Randy!

Cheers to all and Happy May!  Claire W.

3 responses to “Block Fever= Randy’s Sow-along- May 2012

  1. These blue blocks are gorgeous! I’ve never done a monochromatic quilt, but seeing these beauties certainly makes it tempting to start one today. You’ve set quite a goal for yourself, but you have an impressive start. I started on Randy’s Sow-A-Long but I’ve gotten sidetracked. Hopefully I’ll catch up one of these days.

    • Thanks for your comment! I’ve done a fair number of tone on tone or monochrome quilts. I think it really helped me get a better handle on that slippery customer ‘value’. I squint a lot! cheers, cw

Leave a Reply

