Another Sample for my Art Quilt Class

Inspiration for small wall hangings can come from the simplest of places…Image

In this case the yellow house with the blue roof and dark sky reminded me of that song “I’m going back to my little grass shack…”,  I guess the batiks help to give it a tropical feel?!  Anyway, it got me to thinking, ‘what could I surround that little house with to create a tropical scene’?

 I remembered that I had some palm frond batik and dug that out of my batik stash and then found the grass and bark fab to make the palm tree and grass setting for my shack and with a few batiks for the borders to finish, there was my little tropical scene in no time.

Wall hangings and “Art” quilts don’t have to be arduous projects?  Just start with a fun idea, a little story that you want to tell.  Find fabrics that help illustrate or reprsent that idea in someway and then put them together in an interesting way.  That’s What my class “Let the Fabric do the Art Work’ is all about.  Check out the Art Quilt Class tab at the top of this page for more details. 

Happy Holidays! 

Cheers, Claire W.

Leave a Reply

